Skip to product information
1 of 3

Ride On

Ride On

Regular price $17.00 USD
Regular price Sale price $17.00 USD
Sale Sold out
Tax included.

By Faith Erin Hicks. Published by First Second. 

Softcover, 

In Ride On, this middle grade graphic novel from Faith Erin Hicks, twelve-year-old Victoria is burned out from the high-pressure world or riding competitions. Can she get back to basics and rekindle her love of horses? Perfect for fans of Best Friends and Stargazing!

Victoria has always loved horses. But riding in competitions is high stakes, high stress, and shockingly expensive. And even though Victoria’s best friend Taylor loves competing, Victoria has lost her taste for it.

After a heartbreaking fight with Taylor, Victoria needs a new start—at a new stables. A place where she doesn’t have to worry about anything other than riding. No competition, no drama, no friends.

Just horses.

Edgewood Stables seems ideal. There are plenty of horses to ride, and Victoria is perfectly happy giving the other riders the cold shoulder.

But can she truly be happy with no friends?

"Hold on to your horses, because this book will be flying off the shelves!"— Jennifer L. Holm, NY Times-bestselling author and co-creator of Sunny Side Up

"A charming, satisfying and relatable read. I loved spending time with every one of the characters." — Hope Larson, author of All Summer Long

"Ride On is a heartfelt coming-of-age story that will be treasured by any horse lover. Faith Erin Hicks has made a beautiful graphic novel about facing your fears, making friends, and following your heart." —Kristen Gudsnuk, author of Making Friends.

"
Hicks gives her uncommon depth, thanks to multifaceted and distinctive characters, nuanced conversations about passion and privilege, and heartening emotional growth. A solid, well-wrought comic for fans of character-driven stories and, naturally, anyone obsessed with riding horses." —Booklist, starred review

"Featuring funny dialogue and Hicks’s signature art—including sharply rendered horses in motion—this attentively layered, low-stakes graphic novel is told with an insider’s understanding of both stable culture and fandom." —Publisher's Weekly, starred review

"A 'perfect ride' of a graphic ­novel that shows that there really is something special about horse friends."—School Library Journal, starred review

View full details