Skip to product information
1 of 2

Powerhouse (Vinyl)

Powerhouse (Vinyl)

Regular price €25,00 EUR
Regular price Sale price €25,00 EUR
Sale Sold out
Tax included.

*This is NOT a comic! But it makes an brilliant soundtrack to reading comics! 

By Raymond Scott. Published by Honey Pie Records. 

Vinyl LP Record, 2022 (originally recorded 1937-1939)

A1 Powerhouse
A2 The Toy Trumpet
A3 Twilight In Turkey
A4 Minuet In Jazz
A5 Reckless Night On Board An Ocean Liner
A6 Dinner Music For A Pack Of Hungry Cannibals
A7 War Dance For Wooden Indians
A8 The Penguin

B1 Bumpy Weather Over Newark
B2 Peter Tambourine
B3 In An Eighteenth Century Drawing Room
B4 Siberian Sleighride
B5 Boy Scout In Switzerland
B6 The Tobacco Auctioneer
B7 New Year's Eve In A Haunted House

Visionary composer Raymond Scott was a pure genius largely known thanks to the massive recycling and adaptation of his music for cartoons. "Powerhouse" the title track of this beautiful collection is one of his best known compositions for Warner Brothers animated cartoons. Scott's Quintette recorded "Powerhouse" in New York on February 20, 1937, The first use in a cartoon occurred in the 1943 Looney Tunes short "Porky Pig's Feat" and since then we can count hundreds of apparitions, versions and quotes, from Bugs Bunny to The Simpson via Kronos Quartet and Don Byron's versions. In other words: a true classic piece of music beyond time and genres.

View full details