Skip to product information
1 of 3

Measuring Up

Measuring Up

Regular price $15.00 USD
Regular price Sale price $15.00 USD
Sale Sold out
Tax included.

By Lily LaMotte & Ann Xu. Published by Harper Alley.

Softcover, 208 pages, Colour, 2020.

For fans of American Born Chinese and Roller Girl, Measuring Up is a don't-miss graphic novel debut from Lily LaMotte and Ann Xu!

“A beautiful story about food, family, and finding your place in the world.” —Gene Luen Yang, author of American Born Chinese and Dragon Hoops

“A delicious and heartwarming exploration of identity by a young immigrant trying to find her place in multiple cultures.” —Remy Lai, author of Pie in the Sky and Fly on the Wall

Twelve-year-old Cici has just moved from Taiwan to Seattle, and the only thing she wants more than to fit in at her new school is to celebrate her grandmother, A-má’s, seventieth birthday together.

Since she can’t go to A-má, Cici cooks up a plan to bring A-má to her by winning the grand prize in a kids’ cooking contest to pay for A-má’s plane ticket! There’s just one problem: Cici only knows how to cook Taiwanese food.

And after her pickled cucumber debacle at lunch, she’s determined to channel her inner Julia Child. Can Cici find a winning recipe to reunite with A-má, a way to fit in with her new friends, and somehow find herself too?

A Junior Library Guild Gold Standard Selection

Fall 2020 Kids Indie Next List

Featured in Parents Magazine Book Nook October issue

A CBC Hot off the Press October Selection 

View full details